Google+ Followers

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

History of Indian Railways in Orissa

1887 The Bengal Nagpur Railway was formed.
6th Oct 1890 The East Coast Railway was inaugurated.
1893 to 1896 800 miles of East Coast Railway line was built and opened for traffic.
1893 to 1896 East Coast Railway built some of the largest bridges viz. Brahmani,Mahanadi, Katjuri, Kuakhai and Birupa during the period.
1st Feb 1897 Khurda Road-Puri (27 miles) section was opened for traffic.
1898-99 Kharagpur-Cuttack was opened for traffic.
1st Jan 1899 BNR’s Line to Cuttack was opened.
March 1901 The construction of a bridge on River Mahanadi near
Cuttack was completed.
1911 A 40 mile branch line from Tatanagar to Gurumahisarani
where plenty of iron ores are available was opened for traffic.
1922 BNR Hotel at Puri was established
1922 Tatanagar-Gurumahisani line was extended upto Badampahar.
Feb 1925 Extension to Gua was completed.
1929-31 Parlakmedi-Gunupur section was opened in two portions in 1929 and 1931.
1st Oct 1944 The management of Bengal Nagpur Railway
was taken by Government of India.
1955 B N R Emerged as South Eastern Railway.
1960 The Dandakaranya-Bolangir-Kiriburu Railway Project.
[Kottavalasa-Koraput-Jeypore-Kirandul Construction (Dandakaranya Project),
Titlagarh-Bolangir-Jharsuguda Project and Rourkela-Kiriburu
Project; all these 3 projects put together were popularly known as
DBK Project - Dandakaranya-Bolangir-Kiriburu Project.]
31st Jan 1962 Foundation stone of Cuttack-Paradip line was laid by the then Prime Minister, Late Jawarlal Nehru.
April 1963 Sambalpur-Titlagarh line was opened for traffic.
1968 Cuttack-Paradip line was inaugurated.
9th July 1973 Cuttack-Paradip line was opened for traffic.
28 Feb 1977 Jhakpura-Daitari line was opened for traffic.
Dec 1995 164 kms long Koraput-Raygada line was finished.
Aug 1998 174 kms long Talcher-Sambalpur line was opened.
18th Nov 2000 Banspani-Jaroli (10.44 Km) was opened for traffic.
4th July 2002 Govt of India gave a gazette notification about East Coast Railway
(ECOR) being carved from the South eastern railway. ECOR is to
consist of the Sambalpur, Khurda Rd and Visakhapatnam divisions.
1st April 2003 East coast railway (ECOR) was operationalized.
Sept 2005 Gauge converson of 52 kms long Rupsa-Baripada was finished.
2005 Kharagapur-Visakhapatnam electrification finished.
2006-07 155 kms long Daitari-Bansapani is scheduled to be finished.

No comments:

Post a Comment